Before Monday came Sunday, Saturday and Friday

FOOD!, Global Event Group

Yesterday we looked at our scrumptious lunch from Monday, so today we back it up and look at the food we experienced last weekend.  In a nut shell, our team was working from 8am until midnight each night – so we all had our fair share of Chow Town Food Court treats.  Personally,  I ate my weight in Connie’s Pizza (more on our long time friends later), until Sunday hit and I ventured out a bit… to the Farmer’s Market to be exact. Now, this wasn’t your usual farmer’s fair.  There were parcels of peaches, but everything else was prepared food from farm fresh goods – such as cheese, blueberries, and even wheat grass!

As late morning rolled around I began getting hungry, so Matt sweet talked the fine people at Rock ‘n Roll noodle company for a sampling of their pad thai spring roll.  

It had rained Sunday morning so not only was it hot – it was muggy.  This light, crisp delight was the perfect palette pleaser.  I am a fan of pad thai, but this was so fresh, herbs and all, and the mango was just the perfect touch of sweet, but this version was even better.  After a few more hours passed I was once again hungry, but this time I headed to the farmer’s market alone.  First up – Seedlings.  A Michigan farm where apple cider, blueberries and peaches are cooked, picked and enjoyed!

I inhaled a blueberry smoothie made from those farm fresh blueberries, ice and homemade apple cider… that’s it!  No dairy, no fat, no problem.  I have never tried a fruit smoothie with such wholesome, simple ingredients.  But, now I highly recommend it!

While it was delightful, my body must have noticed the lack of dairy because up next was the cheesemakers.  This next treat is so awesome, my words will most likely not do it justice… grilled cheese on a stick (hold the bread please!)

Thick slices of fresh cheese were grilled just enough so the outside was crisp, while the inside was still firm but gooey.  They offered several awesome pairings for the top of the cheese.  Being the Texas gal that I am, I chose the jalepeno chutney topped upon my lovely grilled piece of cheese.

This was exactly what I needed to fill my tummy and refuel me for the rest of the day. If you want more of Chow Town’s great food or still aren’t sure what it is, check out:

http://www.lollapalooza.com/experience/chow-town/

Leave a Reply

